Do you speak English?

Ok so I’ve something new to contend with as a mum that I have never really considered.

welshWelcomeSign

My daughter now speaks Welsh-she’s three, she lives in Wales, she is Welsh so it all adds up.

But I’m English!

Whats the problem?

I’ve always loved learning and as you’ll  see from my blogs I enjoy teaching my little girl new things, making learning fun and finding out what she’s learning at school so I can help her learn the same thing at home.

But what do you do when you don’t have a clue what your child is saying and you don’t know how it’s spelt to Google it?

Help!

So far I’ve learnt how to count from one to ten in Welsh, I can sing ‘A rainbow’ and I know a few colours so I’m holding my own at nursery level Welsh.

But I do have secret weapons……..my Welsh friends and Facebook.

So I’m not totally on my own.

It it won’t be long before my little girl leaves me singing colours though as a sentence is beyond my means.

It’s funny but you sort of mentally dish out who will teach what:

Dad- Maths

Mum-art and craft

Mum-nature

Dad- history

Mum- English

Im a creative person- I like to see and experience. I have a short attention span but love learning new things.

Dad loves facts, history, detail.

Neither of us speak Welsh.

I think that just makes it all the more fun and I’ll try my best to support my daughter a much as I can.

When the time comes that I don’t know my Popty Ping from my Oven then I’m in deep water.

There’s lots of good advice out there but the main one is to always speak in your native language, praise your child when they speak an alternative language and ask them to explain what they are saying to you.

Phew! That’s me sorted then.

So it’s Au Revoir I mean Hwyl Fawr from me-have a good week and spare a thought for me.

In the future when the Wales V England rugby matches are on there will be two flags flying.

Can’t wait!

Happy St David’s Day 2014 to all my friends

 

Leave a Reply

