Mums The Word

mum-s-the-word
I asked my mum friends six questions on being a mum-their answers makes for a great honest read:
1) What was the hardest thing about being a working mum with a toddler
2) What was your lowest point?
3)What is your most treasure memory?
4)If you did it all again what would you change?
5)What would be your top tip to pass on to another Mum?
6)Who is your ‘mummy’ idol?
My own answers were:
1) What was the hardest thing about being a working mum with a toddler?-for me it was ‘having’ to become very domesticated. I couldn’t really cook before.
2) What was your lowest point? When I went to a baby group and felt so fat and unattractive and embarrassed.
3)What is your most treasured memory? When my daughter had a test in hospital to see how she was developing she was given some cereal hoops to see if she had a good pincer grip. Instead she sucked the hoop in to her mouth and ate it
4 )If you did it all again what would you change? I wouldn’t have bought soooooo much stuff! Babies and toddler don’t need everything there is on the market. I bought way too much. My house became a toy shop
5) What would be your top tip to pass on to another Mum? Have good people around you who can help you but also keep being an individual and have fun.
6) Who is your ‘mummy’ idol? Probably my friend who is quirky, quite laid back, headstrong and independent.
My friend
1) What was the hardest thing about being a working mum with a toddler- not having any time for anything… for my son, for the house, for me, for my husband or life in general.
2) What was your lowest point? To be honest I have had a few, mostly due to lack of sleep and life’s stresses
3)What is your most treasured memory? Again so many, most recently me and my son in shop-he grabs my face kisses me loads and tells me how much he loves me. Lush
4)If you did it all again what would you change? More family time …it’s so precious and he grows so quick.
5)What would be your top tip to pass on to another Mum? Don’t stress over the milestones, relax they will happen when they will and just enjoy your child they grow soo fast
6)Who is your ‘mummy’ idol? many of my friends are working mums whom i respect greatly for keeping sane… and I take my hat off to and those with children who have medical problems … All good mums are Heros and mummy idols x
Another friend wrote:
1.Hardest thing about being a working mum with toddler is having no me time to do the things I used to do.
2.lowest point was when my daughter was unwell as a baby, nothing too serious but it made me really sad and I cried a lot.
3.most treasured memory was hearing my girls first little cry and cuddling her when she was born. Also everytime she says I love you, Mummy tank fills right up.
4. If I’m ever lucky enough to do it all again I would labour longer at home before calling the midwife. Every day I also struggle to be calmer than I feel.
5.top tip: all children need happy/ functioning mummies. So find what keeps you happy/ functioning.
6.my Mummy idol is my friend as she’s cool, calm and creative.
And another friend was kind enough to share this:
1. Having to say goodbye.
2. Seeing them ill and not being able to take their pain away.
3. First sight of them.
4. Make sure I enjoyed every tiny thing they did, not to do the ‘I can’t wait until’ routine.
5. No matter what happens you are an amazing mom and don’t let anyone or anything make you feel different.
6. Every mom who loves their children for who they are, not what they want them to be.
Whatever situation you face in life it’s always good to have friends you can share experiences with. You never have to struggle on your own.
Please share your thoughts-I’d love to hear them
Thank you to my friends for being so open and honest.
Leave a Reply

