Too Busy For Christmas?

 My idea of Christmas, whether old-fashioned or modern, is very simple: loving others.

Come to think of it, why do we have to wait for Christmas to do that?

Bob Hope

1469881_10152125757628169_800011621_n

My little girl started ‘big school’ a month ago and a little list of 30 children’s names appeared in her folder which she brings home every Friday. ‘Not sure why I’d need this’ I said as I stuffed it in the school stuff drawer. A few days later it dawned on me-it was so we could send Christmas cards to the entire class.

I went white and considered:

  • Not sending any
  • Buying pre printed stickers with a message on
  • Only sending to the names my girl mentioned
  • Losing the list

So I asked some other mums and found a mixed bag response-most of which made me laugh- one mum said she was sending cards to the class, one mum couldn’t be bothered to send any and one mum said she’d send to the whole school! Ok I draw the line at that one!

I’m a little bit embarrassed to admit Googling these sorts of questions but it’s been a long time since I went to school. So I googled about card sending etiquette.

I got a whole new set of responses to a question I am obviously not the only one to ask (Now feel better)- these made me feel so different.

  • One mum said that imagine if my little girl didn’t get any cards at all and everyone else did-how would she feel?
  • One mum pointed out that making the little ones choose who they send cards to is starting to segregate other children straight away
  • Another said that the children’s enjoyment of getting cards was well worth the effort.

So with all this advice what did I do?

Coming home from school on Friday my daughters bag had four Christmas cards inside-her little face lit up as I told them that they were for her and my little face (!) lit up too as I saw them. As I read out who had sent them to her she told me a little story about each of the children who sent it.

So after this heart warming experience I decided not to send any cards this year-I’m sorry but I am too busy.

I’m joking!!! I went out and bought a box of cards and wrote them all without a moan-my daughter added her own squiggles to some of the cards too.

I was reminded that life can be so busy that you forget what’s important-and that’s people. (Or animals)

I will try not to sacrifice people over time.

Today we popped down to see a friend who’s little boy has been very poorly-we took him some early Christmas presents and some chocolate and helped cheer him and his mum up.

We wrapped our Mr X present for a little 9 year old boy in a local orphanage and I explained to my daughter that some children aren’t lucky enough to have lots of presents so we bought them one.

I paid for three dogs in the dogs home to have a Christmas lunch too.

There’s so much more I want to do- I discovered a little boy called Josh on Twitter- a 13 year old boy who has been left severely disabled by a reoccurring brain tumour. I found him because we share a love of Zumba. This courageous little boy raises money for other children and his Twitter account is an inspirational account of a young boy who offers sincere gratitude to the people who help him or even just those who Tweet him.

His latest tweet shows how selfless he is:

My sats have dropped, had to have a trip to the hospital in an ambulance with blue lights flashing. Thank you @NWAmbulance for taking me

I will be giving a small donation to his charity to wish him a Merry Christmas.

So I hope I’ve inspired you a little bit to make sure you take time out to make someone’s Christmas but more importantly ensure that our children know that the real meaning of Christmas is not in the presents we get but in the love we give.

You can follow Josh on Twitter @JourneyJoshuas or donate via his website http://www.joshwilson.org.uk/2013-christmas-cards-now-on-sale/

Thanks so much for reading my blog today

Leave a Reply

