Rainbow Vegetables

I passed through a Welsh country village this weekend and did a stopover to visit a huge fruit and veg shop-somehow I managed to spend a fortune as I picked up every Autumn vegetable in sight-a beautiful array of rainbow colours. In my basket I had a butternut squash, sweet potatoes, marrow,beetroot, carrots, melon, cherries, leeks, avocado, tomatoes and onions. No idea what to cook with it all!

I thought I’d share with you some of the things I cooked using these ingredients-mostly with my toddler in mind but partly because I want to lose some weight before Christmas (And not just from my purse!)

Butternut squash and carrot soup

image

Baked Stuffed Marrow

marrow

Steamed Red Cabbage and apple in the slow cooker

image

Boiled Beetroot (To put in a salad)

image

I also put a big tray of potatoes in to bake-enough for the week

image

Taking a bit of time to plan a healthy week ensures you start off on the right foot. It’s a little more time consuming to prepare fresh food but so much more tasty.

I hope you find some inspiration here

Have a good week

Amanda

Leave a Reply

